II. THE COMMISSIONERS

The Commission is comprised of twenty-two Commissioners. The various Commissioners are appointed as designated in Rule 21 by separate appointing authorities including the Chief Justice of the Hawai`i Supreme Court, the Hawai`i State Bar Association, the Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Service Providers, the Hawai`i Justice Foundation, the Williams S. Richardson School of Law, the Hawai`i Paralegal Association, the Governor, the Attorney General, the Senate President, and the Speaker of the House. The Commissioners are listed as follows:

	Name	Appointed By	Term Ends
1.	Hon. Simeon R. Acoba, Jr. (CHAIR)	Chief Justice	n/a
2.	Jill M. Hasegawa, Esq. (VICE-CHAIR)	Hawai`i State Bar Association	12/31/11
3.	Hon. Daniel R. Foley	Chief Justice	12/31/09
4.	Hon. Greg K. Nakamura	Chief Justice	12/31/09
5.	Hon. Simone C. Polak	Chief Justice	12/31/11
6.	Hon. Calvin K. Murashige	Chief Justice	12/31/09
7.	Rai Saint Chu, Esq.	Hawai`i State Bar Association	12/31/10
8.	B. Martin Luna, Esq.	Hawai`i State Bar Association	12/31/11
9.	Shannon L. Wack, Esq.	Hawai`i State Bar Association	12/31/10
10.	Moya Gray, Esq. (Volunteer Legal Services of Hawai`i)	Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers	12/31/11
11.	M. Nalani Fujimori Kaina ⁵ (Legal Aid Society of Hawai`i)	Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers	12/31/09
12.	Mahealani Wendt ⁶ (Native Hawai`ian Legal Corporation)	Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers	12/31/10
13.	Nanci Kreidman (Domestic Violence Action Center)	Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers	12/31/10

⁵ Charles Greenfield formerly served as a Commissioner, and M. Nalani Fujimori Kaina was appointed as his replacement by the Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers.

⁶ Mahealani Wendt will be retiring at the end of 2009 as Executive Director of the Native Hawaiian Legal Corporation. Moses Haia was selected to fill her position and was appointed by the Consortium to serve the remainder of Ms. Wendt's term.

14.	Patti Lyons ⁷	Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers	12/31/09
15.	Puanani Burgess ⁸	Hawai`i Consortium of Legal Services Providers	12/31/11
16.	Hon. Richard P. Guy (Ret.)	Hawai`i Justice Foundation	12/31/09
17.	Dean Aviam Soifer	William S. Richardson School of Law	12/31/10
18.	R. Elton Johnson, III.	Hawai`i Paralegal Association	12/31/10
19.	Lillian Koller (Department of Human Services)	Governor	n/a
20.	Mary Anne Magnier, Esq.	Attorney General	n/a
21.	Hon. Mike Gabbard	Senate President	n/a
22.	Hon. Blake Oshiro	House Speaker	n/a

See Appendix "B" for complete biographies of the Commissioners. The Commission is also grateful to the following former Commissioners for their service: Charles Greenfield, Patti Lyons, and Puanani Burgess.

⁷ Patti Lyons resigned from the Commission, and Jean Johnson was selected by the Consortium to replace her.

⁸ Puanani Burgess resigned from the Commission, and Debbie Shimizu was selected by the Consortium to replace her.

Commissioners of the Hawai'i Access to Justice Commission



<u>First row</u>: Hawai`i Supreme Court: Justice Simeon Acoba, Jr., Justice Steven Levinson (retired), Chief Justice Ronald Moon, Justice Paula Nakayama, and Justice James Duffy; <u>second row</u>: Judge Simone Polak, Puanani Burgess, Moya Gray, Lillian Koller, Mary Anne Magnier, and Jill Hasegawa; <u>third row</u>: Judge Calvin Murashige, Shannon Wack, Rai Saint Chu, Judge Greg Nakamura, Judge Daniel Foley, and Mahealani Wendt <u>fourth row</u>: Patti Lyons, Elton Johnson, Aviam Soifer, Charles Greenfield, and Chief Justice Richard Guy (retired, Washington Supreme Court)